It’s Twilight Time

Figured I’d go ahead and get this one out of the way now that I’m back to writing reviews.

Oh, and this review will contain spoilers, as most of mine do.  If you want to be surprised, stop reading and come back after you’ve seen it.

 

So, the build-up for this movie was just insane for anyone involved in the online subculture.  Especially if you spend any time on YouTube talking to young girls who loved Harry Potter.  You see, the Twilight books by Stephenie Meyer were the next step for Potter fans, so the movie has been much anticipated since it was announced.

 

Now, I have to say that I’m a huge fan of the vampire story.  I remember watching “Dracula” as a kid (and “Monster Squad” of course), then reading Bram Stoker’s novel, then seeing Francis Ford Coppola’s version (I like it actually), and of course there was Buffy and Angel.  There’s a long standing history with vampires and the “rules” regarding them.  The rules in Twilight are a little different than I was expecting.

I remember thinking at first how it was weird that vampires went to school during normal hours.  “What about sunlight,” I thought.  Well, Meyers found a clever way to get around that by setting the story in the town of Forks, Washington, where it stays overcast about 80 percent of the time.  Since indirect sunlight is just a minor annoyance for most vampires, that didn’t bother me.  Then, something weird happened when they explained what happens to vampires in direct sunlight.

Edward speeds up a mountain to get above the cloud line with Bella on his back, they find a patch of direct sunlight and Edward walks right into it saying, “this is why we can’t show ourselves in sunlight” (or something like that).  At first, I thought, “OK, so he’s gonna be all ghoulish and nasty in direct light.”  Nope, he just shimmered like his skin was made of diamonds, and even that took a moment to register.  When he first stepped into the light I remember thinking, “um… nothing?”

There were some things I did like about this version of vampires.  I thought the baseball game was a great scene.  The fact that these vampires only fed on animals, but constantly fought the craving was a nice touch.  The idea of Carlisle Cullen building a family out of his clan was interesting as well.

Something still bothers me about Robert Pattinson’s acting as Edward.  I don’t know what it is.  I hope the director told him to play it that way, but it seemed a little heavy-handed at points.  Plus, he had a tendency to look much creepier than the “mysterious boy that peaks the girl’s interest” is supposed to.  I mean, he just looked psychotic a few times.

I like Kristen Stewart as Bella.  She just seems to fit it perfectly from what I’ve heard of the character in the books.  Also, Peter Facinelli is great as Dr. Cullen.  But, I’ve been a fan of his since “Can’t Hardly Wait”, so it was just nice to see him.  I feel he’s a slightly under-appreciated actor.  Took a minute to register who it was with that blond hair he was sporting though.

 

Over all, I’d have to say that this was a good movie.  Actually, the more I think about it, the more I like it.  There are some kind of cheesy effects used, only a few work.  The first killing of the other vampire clan where you see the vampire in the shadows chasing down his prey was a nice shot.

I haven’t read any of the books, and probably will eventually, but they aren’t a priority on my reading list at the moment.  I know most of the plot of the books from discussions with fans, but I wonder if Jacob was a larger part of the book than he was the movie.  For someone who, as I understand it, becomes quite important in the series, he didn’t have much screen time.

Again, aside from a few issues with special effects (which I always seem to have with certain digital effects anyway), this was a good movie.  Definitely designed right for tween girls, but still entertaining.

 

So, go forth and see the oddest (this coming from a guy who’s seen the hopping vampires from Chinese legend) and most interesting take on the vampire mythos I’ve ever seen…

 

… my little spider-monkeys…

 

 

William, the Movie Nerdfighter

who feels bad for Jacob because he’s always in the same boat.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

